Paper Money
1974 Montrose

Liner Notes

Paper Money is the second album by the band Montrose. It was released in 1974 and was the last album to feature Sammy Hagar as lead vocalist. Ronnie Montrose sang lead vocals on "We're Going Home".

Original bassist Bill Church left the band before this album was recorded and was replaced by Alan Fitzgerald.

Paper Money shows Montrose toning down the more metallic elements of its sound and pursuing a more commercial direction with "I Got The Fire" being the only track that matches the intensity of the debut album.

Although the liner notes for the CD edition of Paper Money said that Ronnie was offered the lead guitar slot for Mott the Hoople when he left the Edgar Winter Group, Ronnie says that this never happened and was just a rumor.

"I Got the Fire" was later covered by Iron Maiden and Axe